Oakville Zen Meditation

#57.Zen Tree: meditation, contemplation & experience. 7JUL15



The Zen tree has a trunk, 6 branches and 3 main roots.

  • The Trunk represents the Meditation.
  • The 6 Main branches represent the contemplation.
  • The 3 Main roots represent the experience thru Mindfulness.



The Trunk represents the Meditation.

The 6 Main branches represent the contemplation. (Clockwise starting with the left lower branch). Contemplating 6 realities that are also the opposite of our main illusions.

  •  Nothing lasts. Everything is transient.
  • Nothing can be controlled.... almost nothing.
  • Nothing has a permanent, unique, independent, separate, unique self entity (emptiness of self) and everything is interconnected & interbeing.
  • “Now” (the Present) is the only reality of time: the past is dead and the future is unborn.
  • Things are what they are - like a reflecting mirror- and not what we want them to be.
  • Our ego mind is the main source of our dissatisfaction and suffering causing attachments, emotions and illusions (1 to 5).

The 3 Main roots represent the experience thru Mindfulness. (From left to right). Experiencing moment to moment a non judgmental mindfulness to our:

1- Body:

  • What we are currently doing,
  • Our 5 senses,

2- Mind:

  • Thoughts including ideas, opinions and judgment,
  • Emotions/feeling

3- Surroundings:

  • Present time and place,
  • Living beings,
  • Events,
  • Nature.


Ven. Ji Gong Sunim. July 7th, 2015